Hobart is the capital and most populous city of the Australian island state of Tasmania. It is located in the south-east of the island on the estuary of the River Derwent. It is the second smallest capital city in Australia, after Darwin, Northern Territory. The city is home to almost half of all Tasmanians, and is the least populated capital city in Australia. It is located on the shore of the River Derwent. The city is dominated by Mount Wellington, which is also known as Mount Hobart. The city is a major tourist destination, with over 1.2 million visitors in 2011-12. It is also the home port for both Australian and French Antarctic operations.

Discover the region`s hidden gems